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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
SPECIAL LICENSE PLATE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS 

 
Sponsor Information for Cities, Counties or Towns 

 
Legislation approved by the Virginia General Assembly and Governor authorizes the issuance of all 
special license plates.  State law allows any Virginia county, city, or town to apply directly with DMV for 
the development of license plates bearing those entities’ seal, symbol, emblem, or logotype.  The 
plate may be a joint venture for more than one locality, when each local governing body agrees to the 
design and issuance fee.  You may apply for either a revenue sharing or non-revenue sharing plate 
and will be required to collect and submit a minimum 350 prepaid applications before DMV can issue 
your plates.  
 
In addition, a county, city, or town may request the development of license plates to commemorate 
the twenty-fifth or subsequent anniversary, in 25-year increments, of its establishment in the 
Commonwealth.  DMV will offer your non-revenue sharing anniversary plates for five years from the 
date it issues the first plate.  After five years, existing plates issued to citizens will be eligible for 
renewal and/or transfer to another vehicle, but no new plates will be issued. 
 
Contact DMV License Plate Development for additional information to assist you in creating your 
plate. 
 
STEP  1 - Sponsoring Entity/Locality (SPONSOR) 

A. Contact the governing body (or bodies) to support the development of a locality special license 
plate. Discuss the intended plate name, revenue type, proposed design, and if interested, 
possible joint ventures with other localities. 
 
What is revenue type?  The Code of Virginia authorizes license plates that share revenue 
with eligible entities (“revenue sharing”) and those that do not (“non-revenue sharing”). In 
general, an annual plate fee of $25 applies to revenue sharing plates, while an annual fee of 
$10 applies to non-revenue sharing plates. (Note: Personalization is an additional $10 
annual fee.) 
 
What is revenue sharing?  The General Assembly can designate an eligible entity to 
receive a portion of the annual plate fees paid for certain license plates. After 1,000 qualifying 
plate sales, DMV will return $15 of every $25 collected annually to the designated entity.  The 
entity must (i) provide to the Commonwealth or its citizens a broad public service that is to be 
funded, in whole or in part, by the proposed revenue sharing special license plate 
authorization and (ii) be at least one of the following:  

1. An agency, board, commission, or other entity established or operated by the 
Commonwealth; 

2. A political subdivision of the Commonwealth;  
 

B. Submit a formal request on official letterhead from the governing body (or bodies) to include: 
• The proposed plate name, revenue type, and plate design (if available). 
• Authorization to use the design and logo on the license plate. 
• Contact information for the individual responsible for coordinating the plate design 

approval process and facilitating the collection of the prepaid applications. 
 

STEP 2 - DMV License Plate Development (LPD) office 
A. Send receipt confirmation email or phone call to the sponsor after receiving the formal request. 
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B. Send Plate Sponsor (VSA 154) form 
C. Send the Preorder Request (VSA 10D) form to use as the application when collecting the required 

minimum 350 applications and payment. 
D. Send License Plate Design Template (upon request). 
E. Provide consultation and address all questions and concerns at any time during the process. 

 
STEP 3 - Sponsoring Entity/Locality (SPONSOR) 

A. Consult with the LPD office before collecting the applications and payment. 
B. Begin collecting applications and payment. 
C. Review and ensure applications are complete. 
D. Submit the prepaid applications and payment to our License Plate Development office. 
E. Submit the License Plate Design Release Agreement, if required. 
F. Submit electronic artwork.  Provide an original raw file of a camera ready design created in a 

vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator CS6). 
 

STEP 4 - DMV License Plate Development (LPD) office 
A. Send a metal license plate prototype to the Sponsor and others for approval.  
B. Order the plates 
C. Coordinate processing of the applications and plate mailing.  The mailing will include plates, 

vehicle registration, and year decals. 
 

Information on collecting and submitting the Preorder Request applications and payment 
A suggestion, based on the experience of other sponsors, is to collect the prepaid applications and deposit 
the monies in a special non-interest-bearing account until it is time to submit applications and payment to 
DMV.  Individual applications and checks made payable to DMV will be returned to the applicant.  
Applications can be collected manually or electronically using the DMV form VSA 10D Preorder Request.  
Secure applications and payments and maintain accurate documentation throughout the process.  Contact 
License Plate Development for guidelines on collecting applications and payments electronically. 
 
If certification is required in order to receive the license plate, the organization must verify, approve, and 
attach the appropriate certification to each application.  Collect only the license plate and personalization 
fees; the cost of the vehicle registration/renewal is not part of this process.  The fees must be paid by the 
applicant.  If the organization wishes to absorb the cost, they may refund the applicant once they are in 
receipt of their new plates.  The International Symbol of Access (ISA), also known as the disabled symbol, 
is available.  Unfortunately, souvenir license plates are not available during this process. 
 
Review all applications for completion.  No applications will be accepted without a vehicle owner signature. 
Submit the entire batch (minimum 350) with one check totaling the amount of applications received. 

a) Separate the applications into three batches with a cover sheet for each batch displaying the total 
application count and dollar amount. 
1. Non personalized 
2. New personalized 
3. Transfer existing plate number (if the plate number is non-personalized, this transfer changes it 

to personalized.  Personalization carriers an additional $10 annual fee and the plate number 
can be remade and/or transferred to different plates.  A non-personalized plate number 
operates only on the plate to which it was assigned and cannot be remade. 

b) Submit one check to DMV along with the applications.  The check amount should equal the 
amount collected for all three batches. 

c) Submit applications and payment to Virginia DMV, License Plate Development – Room 322, 
PO Box 27412, Richmond, VA  23269 
 

Submission of Electronic Media Artwork 
Preliminary unapproved designs used for marketing purposes should have a disclosure statement 
informing potential applicants that the designs may be subject to changes pending DMV approval. 
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The Sponsor is required to provide up to a four-color electronic camera-ready design.  
• Create the design in a vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator CS6) and send the 

original raw file.  The use of spot colors is preferable over process-color due to the intensity and 
the ability to control the inks.   

• If spot colors are being used, only four colors may be used in any design, including black.  For 
example, a design could be comprised of three Pantone colors in addition to black.   

• If process-color is being used (CMYK), the text on the plate must use one of the process colors to 
avoid fuzzy edges.  Black is preferable for the text in this case.  

• Avoid thin lines less than 1/32 of an inch; they may break up or print unevenly.  
• Avoid heavy coverage of ink in the alpha-numeric areas; it reduces legibility for law enforcement 

and the design is less likely to be approved. 
• The logo width cannot not exceed 2 ½ inches.  The length may be longer than 3 inches without 

interfering with the month or year decal on the license plate.  It can be positioned on the left or 
right.   

• The standard font, color (blue), and location of VIRGINIA (positioned at the top of the license plate) 
must be maintained. 

 
To review DMV’s existing plate designs, visit us at www.dmvNOW.com. 
 
Plate Numbering and Longevity 
The numbering system for these special license plates is usually four numeric and two alpha characters 
for a standard production series.  Example:  1001ZZ – 9950ZZ or ZZ1001 – ZZ9950. 
 
DMV Time Line 
The entire process may take up to two years or more when prepaid applications are required.  The 
estimated time for plate development and implementation is up to nine months (times may vary). 
 
SPONSOR – Submit a minimum of 350 Preorder Request applications and payment to DMV and verify. 
  

DMV – Collect, review, and correct (if necessary) all required documents, including plate   

design from the Sponsor. 8 WEEKS 

DMV - Submit plate design to vendor and receive metal prototype. 5 – 6 WEEKS 

DMV – Prepare and receive metal prototype approvals (sponsor, DMV Commissioner, State Police, and toll 
road facility). 8 WEEKS 

DMV - Order and receive the sheeting for printing. 8 – 10 WEEKS 

DMV - Provide system requirements, communication updates, process applications, make and mail plates to 
customer. 3 – 4 WEEKS 

 
 
 
For further information, please contact t DMV License Plate Development: 
E-mail: PlateDevelopment@dmv.virginia.gov 
Fax:  (804) 367-6379 
Mail: Virginia DMV 
 License Plate Development – Room 322 
 P.O. Box 27412 
 Richmond, VA 23269-0001 February 21, 2017 
    

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/#plate_search.asp
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