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Welcome to Virginia!
Here at the Department of Motor Vehicles, we’re excited 
to help you get on the road. This brochure will give you 
the information you need to title and register your vehicle 
including mopeds. For information on receiving your Virginia 
driver’s license, refer to the Virginia Driver’s Manual (DMV 
39), and Obtaining a Driver’s License or Identification Card 
(DMV 141). For information about mopeds, refer to Mopeds 
in Virginia (DMV 264). These publications are available at 
DMV customer service centers (CSCs) and online at  
www.dmvNOW.com.

Meet Virginia’s vehicle 
insurance requirements 
(your vehicle, excluding mopeds, must be 
insured when you register it)

To protect our residents, Virginia law requires the following 
minimum insurance coverage for all registered vehicles.

Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements

Injury or death 
of one person

Injury or death 
of two or more 

people

Property 
damage

Policies effective  
Jan. 1, 2022 
through  
December 31, 2024

$30,000 $60,000 $20,000

Policies effective on 
or after Jan. 1, 2025 $50,000 $100,000 $25,000

If you register your vehicle in Virginia and it’s not covered by 
liability insurance, you face a $600 penalty and suspension 
of your driver’s license and vehicle registration(s), plus higher 
insurance premiums for the next three years.

From the moment you register your vehicle to the day the 
registration period expires, your vehicle must be covered by 
a liability policy issued by an insurance company licensed to 
do business in Virginia – even if the vehicle is not working or 
not being used. If insurance is canceled, you must deactivate 
your license plates or surrender them to DMV. License 
plates can be temporarily deactivated and reactivated or 
permanently surrendered at www.dmvNOW.com.

Whenever a motorist obtains or cancels a liability policy 
or adds or removes a vehicle from a policy, insurance 
companies notify DMV immediately. Why take chances? Get 
insurance on your vehicle before you register it.

Or, if insurance is not an option, pay the $500 uninsured 
motor vehicle fee. Paying this fee does not provide insurance 
coverage, but it does allow you to register and operate your 
vehicle in Virginia for one year.

Remember, if you sell, trade or dispose of your vehicle, 
be sure to notify DMV if you want to transfer the license 
plates to another insured vehicle. If you do not want to 
transfer your license plates, please return them to any 
DMV customer service center or mail them to DMV before 
you cancel your insurance. License plates may also be 
permanently surrendered at www.dmvNOW.com.

Obtain a vehicle safety  
inspection sticker 
(excludes mopeds)

Before operating a vehicle in Virginia, it must pass 
an annual safety inspection and display a valid safety 
inspection sticker. Trailers with separate braking systems 
must also be inspected. Be warned: if you drive your 
vehicle without an inspection sticker, you may be ticketed 
by law enforcement. A conviction for violating Virginia 
inspection laws could result in a fine and be posted to your 
driving record. For information about safety inspections, 
or to find safety inspection stations near you, contact the 
Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or (804) 674-
6774.

Meet Virginia’s emissions 
inspection standards 
(some vehicles require emissions inspection; 
excludes autocycles, motorcycles, and mopeds)

Your vehicle must pass an emissions inspection if garaged in 
the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William 
or Stafford, or the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, 
Manassas or Manassas Park.

New or demo vehicles are exempt from emissions 
inspections for four years. Used vehicles of the current and 
three previous model years are exempt from emissions 
inspections for up to four years. If your vehicle is being 
registered for the first time in Virginia and has a current 
valid emissions certificate (performed in the last 12 
months), it may be titled and registered without a Virginia 
emissions inspection.

Emissions inspections in Virginia are valid for two years 
and may be obtained by having your vehicle inspected at a 
certified emissions inspection station.

When you have your vehicle inspected in Virginia, the 
emissions station will update your vehicle record at DMV. 
Your emissions inspection should not cost more than 
$28. For vehicles subject to the emissions program, an 
additional $2 per year will be charged by DMV at the time 
of vehicle registration. This fee is used to cover the cost of 
the emissions inspection program.

For more information about emissions inspections and the 
location of inspection stations, contact the Department of 
Environmental Quality at (703) 583-3900 or (800) 275-3844. 
Or, visit their website at www.deq.virginia.gov.

Title your vehicle in Virginia 
(do this within 30 days of moving to Virginia)

To register your vehicle in Virginia and obtain Virginia 
license plates, you must first title your vehicle within 30

Failure to comply with Virginia’s insurance law will 
result in fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and 
cancellation of the registrations on all vehicles that you 
own or co-own.



days of moving to Virginia. To receive a Virginia title, you 
must furnish your title from the state in which your vehicle 
was last titled. If the vehicle is new, you must provide the 
manufacturer’s certificate or statement of origin. If the state 
you moved from did not issue a title, you must present a bill 
of sale and the current registration issued in your name.

If you are a non-Virginia resident active duty military service 
member, activated reserve or national guard member, 
or mobilized reserve or national guard member living in 
Virginia and the sole owner(s) of a vehicle that is titled and 
registered in another state, or a person who is serving a full-
time church service or proselyting mission of not more than 
36 months, and the owner(s) of a vehicle that is registered 
in another state and who is not gainfully employed, you are 
not required to title or register your vehicle in Virginia.

Step 1
Present the following:

a completed Application for Title and Registration 
(form VSA 17A)
proof of address
the manufacturer’s statement of origin if the 
vehicle is new, or
the previous owner’s title signed over to you if the 
vehicle is used. If you are titling a vehicle from out 
of state, bring your title from your previous state of 
residence. Your name must appear on the out-of-
state title as owner. Or, you may have the previous 
owner of the out-of-state title assign the title to you.
your social security number, if you have one

Step 2
Pay:

the $15 titling fee, and
the 4.15 percent sales and use tax based on the 
vehicle’s sale price. There is a $75 minimum tax. 

If you are titling your vehicle in Virginia for the first  time 
and hold a valid assignable title or registration issued in 
your name by another state or branch of the United States 
Armed Forces, you will not have to pay the vehicle sales and 
use tax. However, if you purchased the vehicle within the 
preceding 12 months, you must provide proof that the sales 
and use tax was paid elsewhere in order to be exempt from 
sales and use tax in Virginia. 

Step 3
Record the odometer reading on the VSA 17A. If the 
odometer reading is not actual, the seller must inform 
the buyer that it is incorrect by checking the appropriate 
odometer brand code (“exceeds actual limits” or 
“odometer reading is not the actual mileage”). The seller 
must provide the vehicle’s actual mileage.

If you are titling a vehicle with a model year that is at 
least 10 years or older than the current calendar year and 
the out-of-state title shows that the vehicle was exempt 
from odometer disclosure, then no odometer disclosure is 
required for a Virginia title. You must present the out-of-
state title showing the exemption when titling the vehicle 
in Virginia; otherwise, an odometer reading is required. 

Register your vehicle and 
acquire license plates (do this 
within 30 days of moving to Virginia)

Application and fees
After you have insured and titled your vehicle, register it at 
any Virginia DMV customer service center within 30 days of 
moving to Virginia. Present a completed Application for Regis-
tration (VSA 14) and pay the registration fee.  

Your registration fee is determined by the empty weight or 
gross weight of your vehicle, the type of license plate you 
purchase (see special license plates section) and the num-
ber of years for which you register your vehicle. You may 
choose to register your vehicle for one or two years. You 
can save $2 by registering your vehicle for two years.

As a courtesy, DMV will send renewal reminders prior to 
the expiration date of your registration. Customers are 
encouraged to sign up to receive reminders via email, 
phone or text message by creating a myDMV account 
at www.dmvNOW.com. Or, DMV will send reminders 
through the U.S. mail. To receive mailed reminders on 
time, be sure DMV has your current address. Renew your 
vehicle registration online or by mail. A $10 late fee is 
added to registration renewals paid after the expiration 
date.

* Highway Use Fee may be applied in addition to registration fee.  
Visit dmvNow.com.
* Add $2 emissions inspection fee if the vehicle is garaged in 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, or Stafford counties or 
the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas or Manassas 
Park (see the emissions inspection section) and the vehicle is more 
than two years old. 

Sun-shading Requirements
If you are titling and registering a vehicle that has 
sun-shading, you need to be aware of Virginia law. Virginia’s 
sun-shading requirements for the minimum percent of light 
allowed are as follows for any motor vehicle operated on 
Virginia highways:

front side windows – 50%
rear side and rear windows – 35%
windshield – no sun-shading allowed

Contact the Virginia State Police if you have questions 
about whether the sun-shading on your vehicle meets 
these requirements. DMV may issue medical authorizations 
to individuals who have medical conditions requiring 
restrictions from sunlight or bright artificial light.

Fee
$30.75
$35.75
$24.75
$18.25
$21.75

Vehicle registration*     
Passenger – 4,000 lbs or less   
Passenger – 4,001 lbs or more
Motorcycle 
Moped
Autocycle



Your License Plates
DMV will issue you two 
license plates, decals showing  
the expiration date and a 
registration card. Place the 
decals as indicated on the plates. 
Place the plates on the front and rear of 
your vehicle so that they are securely fastened and clearly 
visible. If your vehicle is a motorcycle or moped, DMV will 
issue you one license plate for the vehicle. It is illegal to 
mount license plate frames, colored glass, plastic, or any 
other type of cover on your license plates if it alters or 
obscures the letters, numbers, decals or the state where 
the vehicle is registered and when the registration expires. 
Keep the registration card with you whenever you operate 
the vehicle.

Purchase a vehicle decal or 
sticker from your locality 
(do this within 30 days of moving to Virginia)

The locality in which you live may require you to register 
the vehicle with the locality. Use the DMV web site,  
www.dmvNOW.com, to find contact information for your 
local commissioner of the revenue, treasurer or director of 
finance.

Special and Personalized 
License Plates 

Virginia offers more than 200 special license plate designs 
that enable people with a common interest to identify or 
promote themselves or their cause. Many of our special 
plates represent the military, emergency personnel, 
fraternal orders and civic or community organizations.

Special plates also represent a variety of other groups such 
as colleges and universities, conservationists and hobbyists. 
Special plate fees range from $10 to $25 and are charged 
in addition to the vehicle registration fee. Most special 
plate fees are annual fees, although some are one-time 
fees.

In addition to displaying special plates, motorists can add a 
personalized character combination to their plates using up 
to seven characters. Personalized plates cost $10 a year in 
addition to vehicle registration and special plate fees.

You may purchase a special license plate, with or without a 
personalized character combination, through the DMV web 
site (www.dmvNOW.com) or at any of our customer service 
centers. However, your vehicle must be titled before you 
can purchase a special or personalized plate through the 
DMV web site.

Questions?

Contact us and we’ll be happy to help! Online at  
www.dmvNOW.com, DMV is open day and night. Use our 
web site to learn about our services and products, conduct 
transactions, reserve and purchase personalized license 
plates and download DMV forms. Our web site will also 
help you find your local DMV customer service center.

Or, call (804) 497-7100. A representative or our automated 
voice response system will give you the information you 
need. 

That’s DMV now — or later — whatever 
suits your busy schedule!


