Class A Third Party
Tester Driver Training
School Curriculum
Requirements

Driver training instructional courses
offered for the purpose of operating
commercial motor vehicles as defined by
Virginia Code § 46.2-341.4, including
passenger and/or property carrying
vehicles, will consist of both classroom and
in-vehicle training. The CDL driver training
school shall submit to DMV a curriculum
for approval with copies of the following:

» The paper copy of the course,
including a description of the
course curriculum and a table of
contents or index indicating where
all required components specified
are located

An instructor training manual

The student workbook/manual
A student contract (see DTS31)
School policies and procedures

Lesson plans
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Road Skills Test Route (primary
and secondary test routes) along
with a copy of the map outlining
both test routes

The course materials must be free of
racial, ethnic and gender stereotypes, and
must clearly define the purpose, goals, and
objectives of the program. The purpose
should be concisely stated with specific
components.

DMV may request copies of the
curriculum, including training materials, at
any time. Once a curriculum is approved,
subsequent changes to that curriculum
must be submitted to DMV for approval.

It is the responsibility of the school to make
accommodations that conform to the
requirements of the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA).

The DMV approved training course will
consist of a minimum of 160 hours of
instruction (@ minimum of 40 hours of
classroom instruction and a minimum
120 hours of in-vehicle instruction). Both
classroom and in-vehicle training sessions
will be limited to a maximum of ten hours
per day.

Classroom Instruction
Requirements

The classroom instruction shall include,
but need not be limited to, the following:

» State motor vehicle laws, including
those specifically relating to:

» Registration, proof of insurance
and licensing laws

» Special taxes

» Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration rules and
regulations relating to:

» Medical reviews

» Operation of commercial motor
vehicles, such as trucks

» Commercial tractor, trailers, and
semi-trailers, and motor vehicles

» Transporting flammable or
hazardous cargo

» Virginia laws relating to equipment,
brake systems, lighting, and display
of emergency equipment

» Additional subjects including:

» Responding to different types
of drivers (e.g., teen drivers,
mature drivers, etc.)

» Accident reporting and safety
responsibility laws
» Safe driving strategies/principles
» Instruction concerning traffic stops
including:
» Law-enforcement procedures
for traffic stops

» Appropriate actions to be taken
by drivers during traffic stops

» Appropriate interactions with
law-enforcement officers who
initiate traffic stops

» Awareness of unsafe, unacceptable
driving practices to avoid,
including:

» Aggressive driving

» Distracted driving

» Alcohol/drug awareness

» Motorcycle safety awareness

» Truck safety

» Bicycle safety

» Pedestrian safety

» Railroad crossings requirements
» Driving conditions

» Emergencies on the road

» City and suburban driving, rural
and expressway driving

» Handicapped parking

» Routine service and pre-trip
safety check

» Fuel efficient driving

» Log book lessons and map
reading

» Use of occupant safety devices and
their benefits and effectiveness in
motor vehicle collisions, including:

» Flares, triangles or reflectors

» Fire extinguishers

» Safety belts

» Hazmat emergency handbooks

» Human trafficking course material
must include the following:

» What is human trafficking

» How to recognize the signs of
human trafficking
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Empowering your company and
training drivers
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What you should do if you
suspect human trafficking

When to contact law enforcement
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How to prevent human trafficking
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National hotline telephone
number: 1-888-373-7888

Refer to the Virginia Commercial
Driver’s Manual (DMV60A) for
additional information on human
trafficking provided by Truckers
Against Trafficking, a non-profit
organization.
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Not more than 30 percent of the total
classroom hours may be devoted to the
showing of slides or films.

In-vehicle Instruction
Requirements

The minimum amount of space needed to
conduct the basic control skills maneuvers
is 375 feet in length by 80 feet wide.

Note: Measurements are based on the
maneuvers required for CDL skills test in
the American Association of Motor Vehicle
Administration.



The in-vehicle instruction shall include,
but need not to be limited to, the
following:

» Vehicle Pre-Trip Inspection
Note: Pre-trip inspections shall
include routine checking and
servicing of all component parts of
the Commercial vehicle

» Basic Controlled Skills Maneuvers:
» Straight-line backing
» Offset backing (left and right)

» Parallel parking (conventional
and sight side)

Starting
Stopping
Turning
Braking
Parking
Docking
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Hooking-up and unhooking trailers
and semi-trailers

» Display of emergency equipment

» Use of hazard lighting system

For in-vehicle instruction, the number

of occupants, including the driver and
instructor, will be limited to no more than
five persons in the cab during periods of
instruction as prescribed by regulation.

Road Skills Test Route

All CDL road skills examinations must
be performed on either a primary or
secondary route that has been approved
by DMV.

Each skills test route must include the
following maneuvers:

» 4 leftturns

4 right turns

1 lane change to left

1 lane change to right

1 bridge or underpass

2 pass through an intersection

2 stops at an intersection
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1 railroad cross (when possible — if
not possible to simulate)

» 1 straight section of urban business
street

1 curve to the left

1 curve to the right

Section of expressway or highway
Roadside stop/start

Student discharge (if required)

Weight restriction or traffic sign or
low clearance (must include 2 of
the 3 maneuvers)

Schools must retain a map displaying both
the primary and secondary routes on file.

Passenger-carrying Instruction
Requirements

» Passenger carrying vehicle courses
must include the same instruction
requirements as set forth above,
and shall include, but not be limited
to the following:

» Occupant protection and
accommodation, including:

» Passenger loading and unloading
practices

» Emergency situation procedures,
including emergency passenger
evacuation and exit procedures

» Seating limitations

» Requirements regarding
provisions to accommodate
passengers under the Americans
with Disabilities Act (ADA)

» Baggage loading and unloading,
and weight distribution
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