JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Email this pagePrint this page  

Disabled Parking Placards and Plates Privileges

Rights and Privileges

Virginia's disabled parking placards and plates display the International Symbol of Access and are valid in all 50 states and other countries.

Disabled parking privileges allow you to:

  • park in any parking space designated for a disabled person.
  • park for up to four hours in metered or time-restricted spaces without paying a fee (unless prohibited by the locality).

Disabled parking privileges DO NOT allow you to stop, stand or park in the following areas:

  • where parking is prohibited, including areas where diagonal lines have been painted on asphalt or pavement.
  • in spaces reserved for other special types of vehicles.
  • where it would clearly present a traffic hazard.

Please note: Parking privileges may vary by state or Virginia jurisdiction. Private parking facilities, such as airport parking lots, may restrict the time and free parking provisions for vehicles displaying disabled parking placards or plates.

Violations and Penalties

It is a serious misuse of placards and plates for the disabled when someone other than the person with a disability uses the placard or plate to park in a space reserved for people with disabilities.

Remember, it's unlawful to:

  • park in a space reserved for disabled individuals without displaying your disabled placard or plates. A conviction of this offense could result in fines from $100 to $500.
  • park in a space designated for the disabled unless you are transporting the person to whom the disabled placard or plates have been issued. A conviction of this offense could result in fines of up to $500 and/or the revocation of your disabled parking privileges, requiring you to surrender your placard or plates.

It's also illegal to:

  • create or use a counterfeit copy of a disabled parking placard or license plates.
  • alter a disabled parking placard or license plates.
  • make a false statement about a disability in order to obtain or assist someone else in obtaining a disabled parking placard or license plates.

Convictions for these offenses, which are Class II Misdemeanors, could result in fines of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. Additionally, DMV may revoke your disabled parking privileges, requiring you to surrender your placard or plates.