JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Email this pagePrint this page  

Reinstatement Fee Information

This information is intended to provide you with a general overview of the reinstatement fees collected by the Department of Motor Vehicles and how those fees are used. When a person's privilege to drive is suspended, revoked, or disqualified, Virginia law (§§ 46.2-411, 18.2-271.1E, 46.2-333.1) requires the payment of a reinstatement fee prior to the reinstatement of driving privileges. This law applies to Virginia residents and non-residents, whether or not the person is actually licensed.

The payment of one reinstatement fee will satisfy all orders of suspension/revocation/disqualification in effect. When a driver's record indicates multiple orders, with varying reinstatement fees, the highest fee owed must be paid.

Currently, DMV reinstatement fees may be up to $220, depending on the type of suspension, revocation or disqualification. Below is information on the reinstatement fees required for the most common suspension/revocation/disqualification orders, and how the fees are used.

$145 Fee

The $145 reinstatement fee is required if your driving privilege is suspended, revoked or disqualified for:

  • Failure to pay court fines and costs
  • Failure to maintain automobile liability insurance
  • Operating or permitting the operation of an uninsured motor vehicle
  • Failure to provide liability insurance information requested by DMV (by deadline date)
  • Failure to satisfy a judgment
  • Non-motor vehicle related drug violation
  • Making a false statement on any application for a commercial driver's license
  • Violation for Out of Service, 16 or more Passengers, or Hazmat
  • Failure to obey railroad crossing signal
  • Railroad/highway grade crossing violation
  • Failure to attend an intervention interview
  • Failure to comply with an out-of-state citation
  • Failure to pay child support

Of the $145 collected, Virginia law requires DMV to retain $45 to cover DMV expenses and transfer $100 to Virginia’s Trauma Center Fund.

$175 Fee

The $175 reinstatement fee is required if your driving privilege is suspended, revoked or disqualified for:

  • Failure to complete a Driver Improvement Clinic required by DMV (by deadline date)
  • Violation of probation/suspension
  • Driving while license is suspended/revoked for a non-DUI violation
  • Refusal of blood/breath test conviction
  • Disqualifications of commercial driving privilege
  • Violation of commercial driving privilege - out-of-service order
  • Felony conviction involving a motor vehicle
  • Hit and run driving while suspended for a DUI-related conviction
  • Driving while suspended/revoked for a DUI-related conviction
  • Driving while underage and after consuming alcohol
  • Manslaughter in a vehicle
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash felony which resulted in injury or death
  • Reckless driving/racing resulting in death - felony

Of the $175 collected, Virginia law requires DMV to retain $50 to cover DMV expenses and make the following transfers:

  • $25 to the Neurotrama Fund
  • $100 to Virginia's Trauma Center Fund

$220 Fee

The $220 reinstatement fee is required if your driving privilege is suspended, revoked or disqualified for:

  • Financial responsibility requirement
  • Manslaughter resulting from operating a motor vehicle
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.04 percent
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs
  • Failing to stop at the scene of a crash which involves your commercial motor vehicle if the crash causes injury or death
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs which resulted in the maiming of a person
  • Involuntary manslaughter resulting from the use of alcohol while driving a commercial motor vehicle
  • Revoked from the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) by the Court

Of the $220 collected, Virginia law requires DMV to retain $55 to cover DMV expenses and make the following transfers:

  • $25 to the Alcohol Safety Action Program
  • $25 to the Neurotrama Fund
  • $100 to Virginia's Trauma Center Fund

Additional Fees

Virginia law requires that customers with two or more suspension/revocation/disqualification orders in effect pay a $5 multiple order fee for each suspension/revocation/disqualification order beyond the first one. The fee help to cover the costs of administering the driver's license reinstatement program.

Obtaining Your Reinstatement Requirements

You may obtain your specific reinstatement requirements by requesting a personal Driver Transcript and a Compliance Summary. Use these documents to assist in reinstating your driving privileges or while discussing your requirements with a DMV representative.

Please note that the Compliance Summary is designed to be used in conjunction with a driver transcript and is not an official driving record. The compliance summary only contains information regarding orders that are currently in effect; it does not include conviction information or orders of revocation, suspension, disqualification or cancellation currently in a pending status.

You can also...