DMV News Releases
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEMonday, June 18, 2012
Customers Encouraged to Pay Vehicle Registration Before Expiration
$10 Fee for Decals Paid Late Begins July 1
RICHMOND - Beginning July 1, a new Virginia law adds a $10 late fee if customers renew their vehicle registrations (decals) from DMV after they expire.
"Unlike many other government agencies and private businesses, DMV does not currently charge a late fee," said DMV Commissioner Richard D. Holcomb. "As long as Virginians renew before their decals expire, this new fee will not affect them."
Customers are encouraged to renew their decals at www.dmvNOW.com or via telephone at 1-888-337-4782. If renewing by mail, customers are urged to send their renewal at least seven to 10 days in advance to make sure their payment arrives before the expiration date. A $5 service fee is added to registration renewals conducted in a DMV customer service center.
Also beginning July 1, all driver's licenses will cost at least $20. Most Virginians get a driver's license that's valid for eight years costing $32. The new law, for example, requires individuals who have lost their licenses to pay $20 (instead of $10) for a replacement. DMV issues about 400,000 replacement licenses annually, less than 9 percent of Virginia's 5.5 million licensed drivers. "On average, it costs DMV about $26.85 to issue a driver's license," Holcomb said. "Having a minimum price for all licenses will allow DMV to recover more of its costs."
Similarly, the new law standardized the cost for vehicle titles, making them all $10, beginning in July. While most titles already cost $10, replacements cost $5 and supplemental titles cost $6. "This will bring those costs in line with DMV's other titling transactions, making them consistent," Holcomb said. DMV issues 180,000 supplemental titles and 130,000 replacement titles annually, less than 5 percent of the 7.6 million vehicles registered in the Commonwealth.
"These fee adjustments will allow DMV to continue to provide excellent customer service," Holcomb said. "Most Virginians will see no change since the costs for an on-time registration renewal, standard driver's license and vehicle title will remain the same."