JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
DMVNow logo Virginias Secure Drivers Licenses and ID Cards - Symbols of Virginia pride
 

Email this pagePrint this page  

DMV News Releases

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

DMV Offices Closed on the Fourth of July
Designate a Sober Driver Before Holiday Celebration Starts

RICHMOND - All Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) customer service centers (CSCs) and DMV Selects will be closed on Wednesday, July 4, 2012 in observance of Independence Day. DMV will re-open for service on Thursday, July 5.

Customers may conduct a variety of transactions during the Fourth of July holiday, and on any day, by using www.dmvNOW.com, DMV's automated telephone service at 1-888-337-4782 or the mail.

During the Fourth of July holiday, law enforcement will be out in full force, cracking down on impaired drivers. DMV's Virginia Highway Safety Office (VAHSO) reminds Virginians to designate a sober driver before the Fourth of July celebration begins.

"To prevent a tragedy from occurring this Fourth of July holiday, do not drive after drinking any alcohol, period," said DMV Commissioner Richard D. Holcomb, the Governor's Highway Safety Representative. "Even one drink can adversely affect a driver's reaction time and his or her ability to operate a motor vehicle. With the added traffic during the summer months, be sure to designate a sober driver before heading to your cook-out or Independence Day celebration."

In Virginia, tighter restrictions on driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol will take effect just before the holiday on July 1. An ignition interlock device will be required after one DUI conviction. Currently, the requirement for an ignition interlock is imposed after two DUI convictions or when the offender's blood-alcohol content (BAC) is 0.15 percent or above, even if it's the driver's first DUI. A Virginia driver's BAC must be below 0.08.

An ignition interlock system connects a vehicle's ignition to an analyzer that measures a driver's blood alcohol content. It prevents the ignition from starting if a driver's BAC exceeds 0.02 percent. In 2011 in Virginia, 28,162 drivers were convicted of DUI.

# # #

Back to Press Releases

More than 200 unique plates! Respect and rewards - Veterans ID cards for those who served. Apply today. More people die each year from traffic crashes than from violent crimes. Buckle Up! Important identity theft information. Information for Mature Drivers
Peak Performance - Everyone, Everytime

Newsroom | Subscribe to DMV Web Feed Subscribe to DMV Web Feed  | Plug-Ins | Web Policy

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2013, All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 497-7100
At DMV, we are committed to protecting your privacy.
It is DMV's policy to only release your information to you.


Level A conformance icon, 
			W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0