JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
DMVNow logo Personalize your plates!
 

Email this pagePrint this page  

DMV News Releases

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Friday, June 28, 2013

DMV Implements Transportation Funding Bill
Tax and Fee Changes Effective July 1, 2013

RICHMOND - DMV is implementing a number of changes stemming from the transportation funding legislation that will become effective July 1, 2013.

Starting July 1, 2013, the sales and use tax (SUT) increases from three to four percent. Additionally, per the new legislation, SUT will now be assessed based on the sale price minus any manufacturer rebates. The minimum tax increases from $35 to $75.

Also effective July 1, owners of hybrid and electric vehicles will pay a $64 annual fee in addition to registration fees. This fee does not apply to mopeds. Current law requires a $50 annual fee for electric vehicles only.

A key component of the transportation funding package also impacts the tax imposed on gasoline, diesel and other types of fuel. Virginia currently levies a tax of 17.5 cents per gallon on all fuels used in highway vehicles. Effective July 1, 2013, the rate for gasoline will be 11.1 cents, based on 3.5 percent of the statewide average wholesale price for a gallon of gasoline, while the rate for diesel will be 20.2 cents, based on 6 percent of the statewide average wholesale price for a gallon of diesel. DMV will evaluate and publish these tax rates twice a year.

To compensate for the higher tax rate levied on diesel versus gasoline, the new law allows drivers of diesel powered passenger vehicles and trucks up to 10,000 pounds to obtain a refund equal to the difference between the diesel and gasoline tax rates.

To qualify for a refund, the purchaser of the fuel must retain original receipts and file a fuels tax refund application with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Beginning July 1, customers who qualify for a refund and who have purchased at least five gallons of diesel fuel may visit the DMV website at dmvNOW.com to file an application electronically. The applicant can apply for refunds from multiple purchases at one time; however, applications must be filed within 12 months of the date the fuel was purchased. Customers will need the following information to complete the application: the date the fuel was purchased, the number of gallons purchased, and the odometer reading of the qualifying vehicle at the time the application is filed.

The refund applicant must have receipts to support the refund claim and may be asked for additional information before or after the refund is issued.

# # #

Back to Press Releases

More than 200 unique plates! MyDMV saves me time and paper. Sign up today! Experience and Knowledge - The Keys to Safe Motorcycle Riding Download App for Android or iPhone Now! Teen Driving Information
Peak Performance - Everyone, Everytime

Newsroom | Subscribe to DMV Web Feed Subscribe to DMV Web Feed  | Plug-Ins | Web Policy

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2013, All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 497-7100
At DMV, we are committed to protecting your privacy.
It is DMV's policy to only release your information to you.


Level A conformance icon, 
			W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0