JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
DMVNow logo Personalize your plates!

Email this pagePrint this page  

DMV News Releases


Tuesday, October 01, 2013

Voter Registration Deadline for November Election is Oct. 15
Virginians Should Verify Voting Status, Polling Location

RICHMOND - The deadline to apply to register to vote in the November 5, 2013 election is Tuesday, October 15. Customers may apply to register to vote at any of the 75 Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) brick and mortar customer service centers, five mobile offices, or 57 DMV Select locations throughout the state. For information on DMV locations, hours and schedules, visit

Virginians may also apply to register to vote at their local registrar's office or online at the State Board of Elections (SBE) website ( SBE launched online voter registration in July.

To complete the application process online, eligible citizens must provide their Virginia DMV customer identifier number, displayed on DMV issued identification cards or driver's licenses. Citizens who do not have a Virginia DMV customer identifier may still fill out the registration application online, but will be required to print and return the completed application to the appropriate local voter registration office.

Citizens are urged to check their voting status before the October 15 application deadline. If you need to find out if you are registered to vote or where your polling precinct is located, visit the Virginia State Board of Elections (, call 1-800-552-9745 or contact your local voter registrar.

Citizens are not registered to vote until a paper or online voter registration application is completed, signed and approved by your local registrar. Once an application is approved, a voter registration card will be mailed to you from your local registrar's office.

To be eligible to register to vote in Virginia, you must:

  • be a resident of Virginia
  • be a U.S. citizen
  • be 18 years old (Any person who is 17 years old and will be 18 years old by November 5 may register)
  • not be registered and/or plan to vote in any other state
  • not currently be declared mentally incompetent by a court of law
  • have had your right to vote restored, if convicted of a felony
# # #

Back to Press Releases

More than 200 unique plates! Go paperless! Decal renewal reminders by email or phone. Sign up today! Sample Knowledge Exams Download App for Android or iPhone Now! Teen Driving Information
Peak Performance - Everyone, Everytime

Newsroom | Subscribe to DMV Web Feed Subscribe to DMV Web Feed  | Plug-Ins | Web Policy

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2013, All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 497-7100
At DMV, we are committed to protecting your privacy.
It is DMV's policy to only release your information to you.

Level A conformance icon, 
			W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0