

CLASS A DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL THIRD-PARTY TESTER APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Purpose: Use this checklist to ensure that all applications and supporting documents to become a Class A driver

training school third party tester are enclosed in the application package.

Instructions: Send completed application package to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Training Work Center, Room

519, 2300 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23220.

TESTER REQUIREMENTS
☐ Be currently licensed as a Class A Driver Training School.
Be a driver training school that has maintained a place of business in the Commonwealth for at least three years or that the third party examiner has been licensed as an instructor, as defined in § 46.2-1700, at a Class A driver training school for a minimum of two years.
Submit the following completed documents Training curricula. All training curricula must be approved by the department prior to use. If providing ELDT: Curriculum must include all components required by 49 CFR § 380 Appendices A through E. If not providing ELDT: Curriculum must meet requirements found in the Class A Driver Training School Third-Party Tester Curriculum Requirements (DTS/TPT 30A). Class A Driver Training School Third Party Tester Certification Application (TPT575). Class A Driver Training School Third Party Examiner Application(s) (TPT576) for each Examiner. Must have at least one employee to be certified as an examiner. A signed Class A Driver Training School Third Party Tester Agreement (TPT 559). A Third Party Tester Certification of Skills Test Route (TPT 550). Note: Instructions on completing the skills test route (TPT550 I) form for primary and secondary test routes may be downloaded from our website at www.dmvNow.com
☐ A list of vehicles used for testing (TPT 558). ☐ An application fee of \$25 for Extranet Transaction Access (US532 E/ER). ☐ The \$200 application fee. ☐ The \$100,000 Surety Bond (TPT 557).
EXAMINER REQUIREMENTS
Be employed by a DMV-licensed Class A driver training school.
Be a licensed as an instructor at a Class A driver training school for a minimum of at least two years if the Class A driver training school has not maintained a place of business for a minimum of three years.
Be an instructor in "good standing" meaning that you do not have any sanctions levied against you by the department for actions related to your role as an instructor.
Possess a valid Virginia Commercial Driver's License with the classification and endorsements required for operation of the class and type of commercial motor vehicle used in skills to be conducted by the examiner.
Within three years prior to application, have had no driver's license suspensions, revocations or disqualifications.
At the time of application, have no more than six demerits on his/her driving record and not be on probation under the Virginia Driver Improvement Program.
Submit the following completed documents:
Third Party Tester Examiner Certification Application (TPT576).
☐ The \$100 application fee.
A national criminal records check (FBI Record). Please see the additional information below.
National Criminal Records Check (FBI Record) A FBI record is required for each examiner at the time of application. Records can be requested from the website of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) at www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks or call (304) 625-5590. Evaluation by the Department

CONTACT INFORMATION

For questions about this process, contact the Driver Training Work Center Team at dmvclu@dmv.virginia.gov or 804-367-7050.

The department will evaluate the materials submitted by the third party examiner applicant as well as the applicant's driving record. If the application materials and driving record are satisfactory, the Department will schedule the applicant for third party examiner training.